I left my job after five years and two summers. Here’s what leaving taught me.

You are not your job.

You are not the title on your business card.

You are not the size of your office.

You are not the numbers on your paycheck.

You are not the figures on your spreadsheets.

You are not the number of meetings you’ve attended.

You are not the number of emails you send.

You are not your job and you don’t have to be.

At 27, I realized that I’ve experienced .000001% of the amazing sites and wonders this world has to offer because I was essentially letting work take over every aspect of my life. I also realized just how much time I was wasting by worrying about what it meant to be an adult rather than actually living.

So now it’s time to start living intentionally and bravely and wonderfully.

91ccb702c3871797d47867f5535d52f5

 

 

 

 

 

